Danny Mitchell, # 1 Hall of Fame Member

For those new to the club or have only just got into the sport may not have heard of Danny Mitchell. Danny was one if not the most successful club members and lever action shooters the country has ever seen. I was never lucky enough to see Danny shoot as he had become very unwell by the time I started shooting in the early 80’s. Danny was a 30/30 shooter and had won many Local, State and National championships. Danny was the first Lever Action shooter to receive a Hall of Fame patch. Seen here in this image is his son accepting the patch on behalf of his father from Steven Hurley and Mick McDonnell who is wearing his old club shirt as Danny would have worn. He is holding one of Danny’s .30/30’s.

I can remember Danny watching me shoot from his wheel chair as a pimply faced 14 year old commenting on my shooting. I will never forget that.

Danny’s legacy lives on in the club and I am sure he is keeping an eye on things and pushing the shooters to achieve their best.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment